Click to enter Cascade Peaks
Click to enter Columbia River Gorge
Click to enter Columbia River Gorge in Winter
Click to enter LDS Temples of the West
Click to enter Don's 2002 Photo Jaunt
Click to enter Don's 2003 PhotoJaunt
Click to enter Acadia to Zion: America's National Parks
Click to enter Presidents' Places
Click to enter State Capitols
Click to enter Eastbank Esplanade
Click to view Vancouver Collage
Click to enter Southern Oregon Coast
Click to enter Don's Favorite Photos
Click to see Pheatured Foto
Click to enter Silver Falls
Click to enter Two Woodland Trails
Click to enter England in the 1950's
Click to enter Don's Photo Gallery

More of Don's
photo series.

Presidents' Places:
   Andrew Jackson
   Martin Van Buren
   William Henry Harrison
   John Tyler
   James K. Polk
   Zachary Tayler
   Millard Fillmore

I have not yet visited places associated with these presidents, but hope to in the next few years.

However, there is something I would like to say about them:

Andrew Jackson served eight years as president. This was in keeping with the tradition of George Washington, who served eight years, then declined serving another term. All the the presidents through Andrew Jackson followed this tradition except the two Adamses, who were not elected to a second term, and therefore served only four years each.

Martin Van Buren served his full four years.

However, beginning with William Henry Harrison and continuing for three terms, six men served as president in only twelve years. Nothing like this has ever happened since.

William Henry Harrison served only one month, then he died.
John Tyler served three years eleven months, finishing out Harrison's term.
James K. Polk served a full four years.
Zachary Taylor served one year four months, then he died.
Millard Fillmore served two years eight months.

Beginning with Franklin Pierce in 1853 and continuing until 1913, only two presidents served eight years: Ulysses S. Grant and Grover Cleveland (and Cleveland's two terms were separated, not continuous). (Theodore Roosevelt came close: seven years six and one-half months).

Beginning with Woodrow Wilson in 1913, only five presidents have served eight full years; nine have served less than eight years. And of course, Franklin D. Roosevelt served a little over twelve years, and Harry S Truman served just under eight years.


All photos on this site ©Donald L. Mark 1973-2007   Back to "Presidents' Places" Index